Inspiration and aspiration

Standard

I just discover that Today 4th of the August Louis Vuitton was born in 1821. Louis Vuitton told that “artisans were trained over many years to be able to carry out the various activities involved in the creation of one of their accessories.” His bag was and is is aspirational and comprehensible. Is there anything that symbolises the glamour of travel more than a Louis Vuitton steamer trunk?

Penelope-Cruz-with-Louis-Vuitton-luggage-in-Nine-758x1024

In Nine, Penelope Cruz plays Carla, the fiery mistress of Italian filmmaker Guido (Daniel Day-Lewis).

On film, a quick glimpse of an LV monogram canvas Alzer lying on the bed, the glamour of a fashionable woman, to fulfil a Manhattan stereotype, to reveal royalty, to display a certain level of wealth…, so iconic.

Audrey-Hepburn-with-monogram-Louis-Vuitton-trunk-in-Love-In-The-Afternoon-700

A Louis Vuitton trunk casually rests in the corridor outside Mr. Flannigan’s suite at the Ritz Hotel as Audrey Hepburn goes past.

What LV means for me …… It’s time watching fantastic movie (with LV in the background)

hhhhhhh

This leather Louis Vuitton set with custom safari print was made especially for Wes Anderson’s film. In the film, three brothers reunite to travel across the Indian subcontinent after the death of their father whose signature luggage they cart with them, signifying the emotional baggage they are struggling to shed.

However, I do not know sometimes what was more important for girls and myself LV or movie. 🙂

Bond-Louis-Vuitton-1

When James Bond (Roger Moore) arrives to investigate a horse-racing scam, he brings a suite full of Vuitton with him, right down to the mini-accessory bags inside the suitcases that contain all his special gadgets. When James Bond (Roger Moore) arrives to investigate a horse-racing scam, he brings a suite full of Vuitton with him, right down to the mini-accessory bags inside the suitcases that contain all his special gadgets.

I am conservator who believe that each  work of art, whether  it is  a work  of great genius  or something small, comes  to the artist and says, here  I am.  Some things…like on the image below arrive in their own mysterious time.

MarilynMonroeWarholLouisVuitton

MarilynMonroeWarholLouisVuitton

The artist is a servant who is willing to be the birth giver and also human who liked watch movies.

zs

A working girl stereotype? The poster for New In Town (2009) with Renee Zellweger

Good movie, make you care, make you believe in possibilities again.

What LV monogram canvas Alzer lying means for me?

It is inspiration and aspiration

1fb1251d563d98efdd10e32e666948f3

Happy Birthday,  Louis!

00

I wish one day I will buy such a bag, but now It doesn’t matter if I’m traveling with a backpack or suitcase, I am Happy!

Ella

About conservationwithella

Hello, I'm Ella, Art on Paper Conservator & Preservation Manager at Glasgow University Archives and Special Collections. This blog is a walk through my daily life, work, arts & crafts history, my discovery that everything in my life is enough to be a continuous source of reflection. I started blogging to entertain myself but I hope you enjoy it too. I'm sure you agree, that Life without art is nothing. :)

One response »

Leave a Reply

