Fortune

Standard
Fortune

Fortune ,Giovanni Boccaccio, Des cas des nobles hommes et femmes (French translation by Laurent de Premierfait), Paris ca. 1410 (Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 190/2, fol. 30v)

I’ve heard of the man who bought a $4 painting at a garage sale, found an original copy of the Declaration of Independence inside, and sold it for $2.4 million. A once-in-a-lifetime story, right? Michael Sparks was visiting a Nashville thrift store, where he bought a candle-holder, a set of salt and pepper shakers, and a yellowed print of the Declaration of Independence. Sparks figured the document was a worthless, modern reprint, so he paid the asking price  $2.48  and headed home. After looking over the document for a few days, he wondered if it might be older than he initially thought. So he hopped on the internet to do some research and soon realized he had purchased one of the only 200 official copies of the Declaration of Independence commissioned by John Quincy Adams in 1820. Of those 200, 35 had been found intact; he had number 36. It took a year for Sparks to have the print authenticated and preserved and then he put it up for auction, netting a final sale price of $477,650.

The salt and pepper shakers, on the other hand, were still worthless.

Fortune !!!

What is fortune? a large amount of money, goods, property, good luck or what is going to happen.

Desktop93a

Some of my projects and me :). I feel very fortunate.

There is some moment when you look into the past. It’s the moment when if you’re conservator or not you look at it and you just know that it’s been an amazing privilege to be involved in these projects……

Today, take as your personal mantra

I am what I am and what I am is wonderful.

Not tomorrow or next week.

Today

🙂

About conservationwithella

Hello, I'm Ella, Art on Paper Conservator & Preservation Manager at Glasgow University Archives and Special Collections. This blog is a walk through my daily life, work, arts & crafts history, my discovery that everything in my life is enough to be a continuous source of reflection. I started blogging to entertain myself but I hope you enjoy it too. I'm sure you agree, that Life without art is nothing. :)

Leave a Reply

