March arrives

Standard

MARch

Have you read a good book lately? I certainly hope so. But there are many additional ways to enjoy books as a personal pursuit beside reading them, belonging to  a book club, rediscovering the old favorites you love as a child, and searching for that next  irresistible volume in which to lose yourself. Book browsing is a medieval art. Every paper conservator should have three well-paved avenues for page turning adventures: proper bookstore stocked by bibliophiles, a choice second hunt, and a civilized lending library.

DSC_0658

One of the gems I discovered the end of the February was Ingenious Impressions exhibition at the Hunterian Art Gallery  at The University of Glasgow. The exhibition charts the development of the early printed book in Europe, exploring the transition from manuscript to print and its impact on late medieval society.

DSC_0654

This is some of the my photographs were taken at the exhibition opening. All of these books are an art forms.  All of them were given away as a free bonus from creations which are a wealth of inspiration and information. If you can please put finding a fabulous exhibition on your list personal priorities in March.

March arrives, slowly or spirits reawaken, along the nature world from a long winter’s slumber

Is the first mild day of March, each minute sweeter than before…….

DSC_0653

……….and believe me is one more ways to enjoy books….. Exhibition!!!

About conservationwithella

Hello, I'm Ella, Art on Paper Conservator & Preservation Manager at Glasgow University Archives and Special Collections. This blog is a walk through my daily life, work, arts & crafts history, my discovery that everything in my life is enough to be a continuous source of reflection. I started blogging to entertain myself but I hope you enjoy it too. I'm sure you agree, that Life without art is nothing. :)

Leave a Reply

