Motto

Standard

Well, today my post is not about conservation. Latin ‘Mens sana in corpore sano’, is a well-known motto. In Antiquity ‘Mens sana in corpore sano’ was only mentioned once, by the poet Juvenal.

Image

Woodcut of Juvenal from the Nuremberg Chronicle, created in the late 1400 s.

“Orandum est ut sit mens sana in corpore sano”, he wrote, “A man should pray for a healthy mind in a healthy body.” He was not writing about sports at all. John Hulley extracted this sentence from its context. Now its new meaning this sentence is used by sports devotees all over the world.

One day to go to Great Scottish Run in Glasgow 2013.

Image

Bank of Scotland Great Scottish Run – Half Marathon Course Map

I am really excited for this half marathon but also nervous and I wanted to finish my half marathon between 2:00 and 2:14.

 Image

             Okay, I am ready to run. No matter what the outcome of tomorrow’s race, 1st place or last, I would like cross that finish line with pride!

                                                                                     Best of luck to all runners ! x

About conservationwithella

Hello, I'm Ella, Art on Paper Conservator & Preservation Manager at Glasgow University Archives and Special Collections. This blog is a walk through my daily life, work, arts & crafts history, my discovery that everything in my life is enough to be a continuous source of reflection. I started blogging to entertain myself but I hope you enjoy it too. I'm sure you agree, that Life without art is nothing. :)

Leave a Reply

