My way to conservation studio

Standard

I gave myself a little break. I have no idea how to start today’s post because I feel that the last week was a finally summer in Glasgow. The last Wednesday I walk through the University Campus and the atmosphere and energy around campus was so unique and incredible. I felt welcomed. I always wondered how on Earth people in London, Paris or any city can be so indifferent when they pass all the marvellous buildings every single day. They live in such beautiful cities and they just don’t appreciate it. But then I realized, I do exactly the same. Come on, I live in Glasgow with incredible architecture.

Image

Take the University of Glasgow’s West Medical Building for instance. I pass it every week on my way to conservation studio. When we think of historical buildings we often think of castles and a church, this building  (on the left ) was formally opened by the Prince and Princess of Wales on 23 April 1907 and was designed by architecture James Millar and was founded through the ninth Jubilee appeal which had been established in 1901. I suggest try looking at the place you live in from a different perspective and notice things you never notice on your regular basis.

About conservationwithella

Hello, I'm Ella, Art on Paper Conservator & Preservation Manager at Glasgow University Archives and Special Collections. This blog is a walk through my daily life, work, arts & crafts history, my discovery that everything in my life is enough to be a continuous source of reflection. I started blogging to entertain myself but I hope you enjoy it too. I'm sure you agree, that Life without art is nothing. :)

Leave a Reply

