Summer season and sacred herbs

Standard

Image

      I have taken pictures of the wildflowers at the Glasgow University. I am so glad that I found what they were calledSo, all of these are commonly called chamomile I love these wild flowers and I felt like going for a walk in the field. 

Image

The medicinal use of chamomile dates back thousands of years to the ancient Egyptians, Romans, and Greeks. The Egyptians dedicated it to the sun god. A papyrus document dating to 2800 BC records the use of chamomile to treat skin disorders. Chamomile oil was used to embalm bodies. Hippocrates, the great Greek physician, is said to have used chamomile as a herbal remedying the 5th century B.C.

I really like his words, “For where there is the love of man, there is also love of the art.” 

In mythology, chamomile is one of the nine sacred herbs given by Wodan, the god of the underworld, to mortals to improve their lives. In the middle ages , Anglo-Saxons graded this plants as one of  the Nine Scared Herbs. Monks- alchemists in Europe started extracting essential oil from these herbs through distillation. 

In mythology, chamomile is one of the nine sacred herbs given by Wodan, the god of the underworld, to mortals to improve their lives. In the middle ages , Anglo-Saxons graded this plants as one of  the Nine Scared Herbs. Monks- alchemists in Europe started extracting essential oil from these herbs through distillation.

Image

Image http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Hieronymus_Brunschwig_Das_buch_der_Gesuntheit.jpg

 I was searching up to learn more about chamomile, I find the illustration of the distillation of the volatile chamomile from the Hieronymus Brunschwig book (1500).

Now ……….. I think I’ll keep drinking my chamomile tea

Image

I can’t stop think what does drinking chamomile tea do for us and how make a good cup of chamomile tea?

About conservationwithella

Hello, I'm Ella, Art on Paper Conservator & Preservation Manager at Glasgow University Archives and Special Collections. This blog is a walk through my daily life, work, arts & crafts history, my discovery that everything in my life is enough to be a continuous source of reflection. I started blogging to entertain myself but I hope you enjoy it too. I'm sure you agree, that Life without art is nothing. :)

Leave a Reply

