Tower is the symbol of University Glasgow

Image

            Image

Every Monday and Wednesday, I walk through the university campus as a short cut to my conservation job.  The last time I took some photos at University Tower. This is one of Glasgow`s most important landmarks as it is 85m (278 feet) high and is easily spotted from most parts of the city. Sir George Gilbert Scott designed the university`s Main Buildings and he planned a lead-covered spire for the tower but died before it was completed.

               Image

His son then took over the work and he designed this more open structure which has an observation platform giving superb views.

Maybe one day I’ll take pictures from the top. I’ll keep my fingers crossed in hopes.

Leave a Reply

