My University Buildings

Standard

 I live in Glasgow with incredible architecture and vibe city. One of the greatest things to see is Glasgow University situated in the strict center of Glasgow and I pass it every single day on my way. Image

In 2011 year was  200th birthday anniversary of Sir George Gilbert Scott, the designer of the main buildings of the University of Glasgow. Our Archive holds over a hundred of the Scott plans and details for the main University Building.  These collections are used regularly as a part of our service and displayed in both external and internal exhibitions of different University departments and museums. I worked on the architectural drawings sketched by Sir George Gilbert Scott for the exhibition entitled The George Gilbert Scott and the New University Buildings at Gilmorehill. These works were exhibited in 2011 at the Hunterian Museum.

Image

 

As part of the Exhibition team I was responsible for conservation treatment, transportation of objects from repositories to conservation studio, mounting objects and transportation of plans from conservation studio to the framing workshop at the museum. 

 

About conservationwithella

Hello, I'm Ella, Art on Paper Conservator & Preservation Manager at Glasgow University Archives and Special Collections. This blog is a walk through my daily life, work, arts & crafts history, my discovery that everything in my life is enough to be a continuous source of reflection. I started blogging to entertain myself but I hope you enjoy it too. I'm sure you agree, that Life without art is nothing. :)

Leave a Reply

